Fine Art Notebook™

The art world in general, NY, South Florida and Italy in particular…

New Boca Museum of Art Director, Stephen Maklansky

with 2 comments

ArtDistricts Magazine

I had the opportunity last month to spend a few hours with the new Director of the Boca Raton Museum of Art, Stephen Maklansky, and it was truly a pleasure!  Not only is he passionate about art and the role of the museum as a valuable community resource, but he is also a former artist and curator.  This gives him a truly unique perspective to bring to his new role as an administrator, and I believe it will be a valuable one.

This museum is my second favorite community museum and has been an important place for me and one I’ve been visiting since I was a teenager.  My favorite is the Neuberger Museum of Art, which is on the campus of the school where I studied Art History.   Both have inspired me over the years with exhibits by some of the world’s leading artists and they have served as places of respite and contemplation.  Ever reminding me that the museum is a true “liminal” zone and reinforcing my deep appreciation for this place of contemplation, which, for many, is second only to a church as the location that offers the most valuable tools – via art – for introspection, self-analysis and reinvigoration from the tedious hum, or violent storms, of daily life.  So, with this in mind, the role of the musuem director is a somewhat sacred one, as they’re charged with maintening an institution that is important to so many people, many of whom they’ll never meet or know.

My interview with Maklansky is featured in the August/September of ArtDistricts Magazine and you can view it here.

Written by Jenifer Mangione Vogt

August 13, 2011 at 7:34 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really good posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some content for your blog in
    exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if
    interested. Regards!


Leave a Reply

