Fine Art Notebook™

The art world in general, NY, South Florida and Italy in particular…

Schutz: Living Inside Her Own Head — Until She Eats It

leave a comment »

Dana Schutz Miami Art Museum

Until I viewed Dana Schutz’s exhibit, I didn’t think there was anything I’d find weird.  I went to one of the strangest art schools in the country, Purchase College, which I adored,  but I definitely was surrounded by a good amount of pretty strange artists of all kinds, though usually they were friends and I didn’t think they were strange.  Generally, I adored them.

So, it’s sort of a funny coincidence that Schutz’s one woman survey originated at the Neuberger Museum of Art, which is on the Purchase College campus, and is one of my favorite museums.  Yet, I can’t say that I really “got” Dana.  I toured through the exhibit with her during the preview and she was really very lovely, but it seemed like she struggled to assign meaning to certain aspects of her work that she was questioned about.

Now, in fairness, many great artists live in their own imaginations and are, by nature, shy and introverted.  And, I definitely go the impression that Dana had a very rich inner world.  I reviewed her exhibit Dana Schutz: If the Face Had Wheels for the Palm Beach ArtsPaper.

The title of this post is just for fun.  It just sort of struck me after viewing and hearing about her face eating paintings.

Written by Jenifer Mangione Vogt

February 5, 2012 at 4:54 am

Leave a Reply

